I Kneed A Break

I’ve had to make a really really difficult decision today. I’m a stubborn girl. I want to keep hiking. This is the best time I’ve had in a long time. This is what I need right now. Every morning feels amazing. I have collapsed from sheer laughter almost every day. Life has taken on new meaning. For the first time, I am constantly excited to be alive. I am drunk on life, on hiking, on living out here in the wilderness with amazing people.

Unfortunately, my body doesn’t fully agree with me.

For the past 50 miles or so (actually, maybe more), it’s felt as if an overweight raccoon is using my tendons as bungee cords and mice are mining for gold in my knees.

Translation: I’m in a lot of pain.

So today when we finally made it to Max Patch, I couldn’t stand anymore. Thing is, it was snowing. That’s right! SNOW. Freaking SNOW. Which meant the shivers were real. The guys were walking/running up and down the street eating snacks to keep their blood flowing.

That’s how I ended up in the trash bag on the side of the road eating crushed cheeze its. I put on all my warm clothes, but Pineapple still tossed his oversized fleece on me, and Walkamole encased me in a trash bag.


Not going to lie, it was extremely warm.

Now here we are in Hot Springs, cleverly avoiding a storm, and I’m still having trouble walking. I don’t know exactly what ails me, but I do know that I need time off. Tonight, I finagle my way through a system of friends and family to find a way to get off-trail for a few days.

No matter! I am strong, I am happy, I am bummed that I have to stay away from the trail. But, you’ve got to do what you’ve got to do. It’s 5 days now versus the potential of permanent damage.

I’ll take the 5 days.

Leave a Reply

