Breakin’ That Comfort Zone

“Do one thing that scares you every day.”

I may have taken that to the extreme when I decided to run out into the wilderness, a place that I had formerly been (and still kind of am) afraid of. 

Someone once told me it only takes a few days for you to expand your comfort zone. I’ve been totally shattering mine since March 16th, to the point where I’m only comfortable doing things that make me uncomfortable

This week it was cowboy camping. 

What is that, you ask? 

Oh, it is straight up sleeping under the sky. That’s right. No tent. No hammock. No nothin’! Just a sleeping pad, sleeping bag, and a girl ignoring all her worries. 

I owe all of this to my new friend Hobs who swears by cowboy camping. This is him, he’s super cool. 


After a completely calm, non-life-threatening night, I can confidently say he’s right. It’s pretty dope. 

And you know what? I’m ALIVE! Crazy right? But man, that’s what I’m getting at here: misplaced and misunderstood fears can easily stop you from doing awesome things. 

You can do so much if you want to. Whatever makes you happy. And breaking your comfort zone can introduce you to new things that you didn’t know could make you happy! I’m not lying when I say that I’m still totally afraid of the woods. And that night I was certain mice or a snake would come out of the hole on the tent platform we were sleeping on. But nothing happened. Nothing but sleep and beautiful stars. 

I realized I had the tools to fight my fears if need be, the tools to keep me safe. So all that was left behind was this vibrating fear inside me. That’s no reason to put up a tent and rob myself of a dope night!

So, just go do it. Listen to Shia Lebuffe. If you’re afraid, support yourself with the tools for success and then go. Go be free and camp underneath the stars with nothing more than a sleeping bag and a buddy, because life is waiting to be lived my friend

Fly on! 

Lil Wayne 

3 thoughts on “Breakin’ That Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

