“Awesome” – Rocket Fuel 

It’s an equally empowering and daunting feeling to see all the mountains you’re going to be climbing within the week.

Here’s the deal: we’re doing New Hampshire. Things are going great. They get a little steep, the terrain profile in AWOL’s guide is no help, but for the most part things are good. Then we get up smart mountain, it’s the type of mountain that’s sort of shaped like an L, so when you’re walking along a lower ridge you can see the small itty bitty fire tower up at the top that you need to get to in 3 miles. 

So when you get up there, after huffing and puffing, after your calves feel like they’re on fire, you climb up said fire tower and can see this: 


See that big, blue mountain? That’s Moosilauke. That’s one day’s hike away. 

You’re probably thinking what I’m thinking. “HAH WHAAAAT?” No way. Holy shit. 

Let me tell you, when you get to the actual base of it, you get a glimpse of the entire thing. And you’re stuck with the thought I am going to be climbing up hill for 4 miles.

Spoiler alert: it’s not that bad.

We made it up in 2 hours or less. And that’s what’s been so interesting about these past couple days: the future looks really difficult and daunting, but it ending up being triumphant and fun. 

Every single person I hiked with to the top of Moosilauke had an epic smile on their face this morning. We hiked a big ass mountain. And it was a beautiful god damned day. In fact, some how, despite all our previous anxieties about weather and terraine, everything turned out to be perfect. 

So now I firmly believe that it’s silly to sweat the future. There’s just too many factors that you can’t be certain on. 

As of today, I feel this calm floating over me. Am I still nervous about the Whites? Sure. We got a full blown view of what we’re going to climb this week at the top of the mountain. 

But I’m not too worried. Because I’m going to DO it. It’s going to happen. 

Well, to be honest, it’s 9:40pm and I feel like I’m about to pass out. 

I’ll work on some cool poetic metaphoric realizations for y’all later. 

Until then, fly on!

Lil Wayne 

Leave a Reply

